Guest Post: Getting Lost.

Today you guys are in for a special treat.

On top of having my first ever guest post, this one is coming from someone near and dear to my heart.
This girl means the world to me and I am so proud of the woman she is becoming.

It’s hard when you lose yourself. It’s even harder finding yourself again.
I’m so thankful for God’s grace. And I know Jess is too.

If you want to keep up with her, you can check out her blog over at capnjessss.wordpress.com

Getting Lost.

Have you ever lost yourself? I don’t mean when your mom lets go of your hand in Walmart and you wandered off kind of lost. I mean when you listen to a song, or are reading a book, or playing an instrument. I’m talking about the kind of getting lost where you find yourself, or a part of you, that you never knew was there. In those moments you realize just how precious life is. Those moments in life are something to cherish. You can find yourself in those moments, find out things about you that you never knew you had.

But also, those moments that you cherish the most, scare you the most. I know the first time that I lost myself in music or a book I was terrified because, losing myself in a song was a wake up call of me. It had shown me where I was, were I had been, and where I could be in life. I had seen where I use to be: happy, funny, full of life. I saw where I was: falling into depression, unhappy with myself, and slowing getting out of God’s reach. But then I could see where I was going: getting happy again, funny, full of life, and ready to take the world on with a new attitude. The song that pulled me out of my darkest time in my life was “Through All Of It” by Colton Dixon. I’m grateful to be going back to were I was. Its been a journey but Ive come a long way. Next time you have a bad day, lose yourself in a song, a book, or the sound of the rain.

Leave a Reply

