My Feet May Fail; He Will Not.

One of my favorite worship songs is Oceans by Hillsong. I’m sure you’ve all heard it by now. Some of you may have heard it more than you would have liked. And I’ll admit, it has been overplayed. But that doesn’t take away from the profoundness of it’s lyrics.

And if you find yourself in a place where your faith is being tested, then I’m sure this song really resonates with you.

You call me out upon the water. The great unknown, where feet may fail.

In this season of my life, I find myself with some pretty awesome opportunities, but to say that they aren’t terrifying at the same time would be a lie.

This is where my faith in Him is being tested.

How much do I trust Him?
How far out of my comfort zone am I willing to go?

I may very well fail.

And that’s exactly what will happen if I trust in my plan and not His.

You’ve never failed, and You won’t start now.

He has never once failed me.

So why then, am I letting my fear control me?
Because I’m human.
And I can’t see past my shortcomings to see what He has planned for me.

I know that He is for me and will work things for my good.

So then why is it so hard to trust?

Because I want to desperately prove that I’m good enough to do it on my own. That I don’t need help.
And I’m almost positive that I’m not the only one that has thought that way.

How far are we willing to take our selfish pride and arrogance?

It’s not easy to let go and to let Him take control.
To take us into the great unknown.

I’m entering into a season of the unknown.
And it would be easier to just not go.
But He didn’t call me to not go. He called me to go.

Spirit lead me where my trust is without borders. Let me walk upon the waters, wherever you would call me.

My prayer for not only myself, but for anyone else finding themselves in a season of the unknown, is that we would let go of our arrogance and allow Him to call us where He wants us.

That definitely isn’t easy.

Take me deeper than my feet could ever wander, and my faith would be made stronger in the presence of my Savior.

That is the ultimate answer to that prayer.

That He would take us deeper so that despite the uncomfortableness, we are so enthralled with being in His presence, we no longer notice the discomfort.

He has called us to great things.
And the good news is, He doesn’t call the qualified. He qualifies the called.

We may fail.
We will fail.

But He will not.

I hope that if you find yourself in a season of change, that you would allow Him to direct your path. He has great things for you.

Let Him take you deeper.

Leave a Reply

