I Guess I’ll Muddle Through, Somehow.

One of my favorite Christmas songs is Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas. If I’m being honest, you’d be hard pressed to find a Christmas song that I don’t like, hah. But this one is particularly special to me this year.

There is a line in the song that says “Through the years, we all will be together. If the fates allow. Until then we’ll have to muddle through somehow.”

Most of us like to associate that with our families. Each year when the holidays roll around, we gather with loved ones and enjoy each others company and reminisce about years gone by. And typically at the end of the night, when we pack everything up and head home, we hug and say “Let’s do it all again next year, Lord willing,” and we go about our lives.

We’ve become habitual in taking for granted those precious moments. We assume that we’ll all be together again the following year, so we put little effort into making the rest of the year meaningful.

My wish for all of you is that you enjoy these special moments and savor them. I pray that through the years, you all will be together.

This year, I’m learning to muddle through somehow. This year, I will have a simple Christmas. I miss my family oh so dearly. The simplicity of Christmas Eve by my Granny and Papa’s fireplace and Christmas Day at the lake with my Mama K and Papa.

I’ll be okay though. I’ll muddle through.

So to all of you reading this tonight, have yourself a Merry little Christmas now.

Leave a Reply

