Holidays + Grief = Unexpected Feelings.

The holidays are typically my favorite time of year. They still are. I love everything about them; food, friends, fun. Just the season as a whole is beautiful.

But this year is different.

This is the first holiday season without either of my parents. This is uncharted territory for me. These days are filled with a range of emotions and for the most part, I try to be a good sport about it.

But sometimes it’s hard.

Balancing recovery with this new season of grief has been far from easy. There have been good days. There have been bad days. There have even been in between days.

I’m still learning. Still adjusting. Still figuring things out.

I suppose this is my way of saying, if I seemed overwhelmed this holiday season, it’s for good reason. Please be patient with me. I know that you all are learning to adjust with me. Don’t worry about not knowing what to say. I don’t expect you to. Just be there.

I hope that this holiday season finds you well.

Go look at lights.
Play in the snow.
Drink lots of hot chocolate and coffee.
Go to a parade.
Enjoy the loveliness that is this time of year.

I’ll enjoy all those things as well. Perhaps with a heavy heart at times, but you’ll still see a smile on my face.

We were made for these moments. He is still sovereign.
He is still good.

Much love to you all.

Leave a Reply

