CSM Preview.

This Wednesday I have the privilege of sharing my story with the wonderful kids down at Sallisaw First A/G.
To say that I’m excited would be an understatement.
To say that I’m nervous would also be an understatement.

While sharing my story has gotten easier, it comes with great responsibility, and it’s one I don’t take lightly.
These are real issues.
Heavy issues.
Life altering issues.
And knowing that when I share what I’ve been through, I’ll be speaking directly to students that are actively there.

While I know that there will be heavy conversations that stem from my words, I couldn’t be more grateful that they will be happening.
People don’t know how to talk about these things because people don’t like to talk about them.
This has to change.
Silence won’t bring freedom.
People need other people and they need to know that there are safe places to have these conversations.

Depression is real.
Self harm is real.
Suicide is real.

These are things that are affecting this generation.
These are things this generation thinks that they have to face alone.

Hear me when I say this: You don’t have to face this alone.
You are not alone in your struggles.
They matter.
You matter.
I pray that you remember that.

That’s my ultimate goal with Wednesday.
That even long after I return home, that these conversations will continue to take place and students will begin to experience freedom from these things.

So if you think about it this week, please be in prayer not only for me, but for the students and the leaders at CSM.
These words aren’t always easy to share and I know for some, they won’t be easy to hear.

God is doing big things through this generation and I’m so glad to be a part of it.

Leave a Reply

