Closing in on Two Years.

I guess it’s no coincidence that people always say, “Time flies when you’re having fun”.
Next week will mark two years since my life took a drastic change for the better when I walked through those doors into a giant purple theater.
And while I won’t get to spend that Wednesday night with the people that changed my life the most, I will be spending it with very special people that I met as a result of that night.
But more on that in a later post.

It’s funny to think about all the changes I’ve gone through and experiences I’ve had in these two years, good and bad.
I’ve made life long friends.
I’ve had incredible travel opportunities with an incredible organization.
I’ve checked things off my bucket list.
Heck, I made a bucket list.
But I’ve also had my fair share of not so good.
Stepping down temporarily as an intern.
Two major relapses.
Losing my mom.
A suicide attempt.

But I know that I wouldn’t have made it through those days if it weren’t for me walking through those doors the first time.

Every student, every intern, every person that I have come to love within the walls of that church have changed me forever.

They have become such a vital part of this story. And they’ve done so willingly. They’ve seen the ugliness of self harm and attempted suicide, and they stayed.
Even when I didn’t want them to, they stayed anyways.

Leaving the church I was raised in for twenty years of my life wasn’t easy.
Opening up to people that I didn’t know that well, or have near the history with, about my past with self harm definitely wasn’t easy.

And while not every part of this journey the past two years has been pretty or easy, they have made me who I am.
They have filled up many pages in my story.
They have helped me find my voice for my story.
They have helped me share my story.

This Wednesday will be two years since God radically began changing my life.
It will also mark nine years since this cycle of depression and self harm first became a part of my life.
And this Wednesday I get to share that story with the lovely students at Catalyst Student Ministries in Sallisaw.

My story hasn’t always been an easy one to write or share with you all, but it is far from over and has the best cast of supporting characters imaginable.

To every person that has had an impact on me in these two years, thank you.
Thank you for your love and your support.
Thank you for loving me at my lowest.
Thank you for constantly encouraging me.
I am forever changed by you.
And you will forever be a part of my story.

2 thoughts on “Closing in on Two Years.

  1. I love you, girl. I’m so proud of how far you’ve come. I know it hasn’t been an easy road, especially within this last year. You are the bravest, strongest person I know. Just keep taking it one day at a time. You are doing great things ❤ "lurv" lol.

Leave a Reply

