Usually

I try to let ignorant or inappropriate comments about self harm roll off my back.
I try to give people the benefit of the the doubt that maybe they aren’t educated on it, or if it’s someone that I know, that maybe they don’t know that part of my life.

But sometimes.
Sometimes I just can’t.
Sometimes I let it get to me. And I let it consume me.

I try really hard not to.
But I’m not having very much luck with that today.

I hate that people make such comments.
It makes sharing the journey that much more difficult.
It makes recovery that much more difficult.

I have worked my butt off to get to 71 days of recovery.
And I’m proud of that.
And I certainly won’t let a couple of ignorant comments come between that.

Leave a Reply

